Montefiascone. With the weather being so nice, the plan was to visit Lake Bolsena and spend some time there.
The bus dropped me off and I was going to take a taxi (yes I used the word taxi as all I ever talk about is walking or the bus lol).
The bus dropped me off in front of a church " Basilica D S Flaviano" (XI-XV Centuries).
Church description:
"This romanesque chruch was built in 1932 on the remains for the earlier church of St. Maria. Given its special location at the intersection of FOUR Roman roads, the foundation of the church is based on the church of Holy Sepulchre in Jerusalem.
The legendary character of Defuk, who died after having drunk too much muscatel wine(Est! Est! Est!) and his tomb is inside the chapel."
From the description, you can imagine how incredible this church was inside. I planned to stop inside for just a few minutes and i left my luggage behind a van on the street. I repeat, I left my suitcase behind a van on the street IN ROME.
Yes there was a lot of theft in Rome, but this was a small city and a lovely one. I decided to take a risk and it was not a smart one for sure.
The problem was the church. The church was so incredibly stunning and I was in such "Aww" that I was in there for at least 15 minutes. I was so mesmerized, as this was ranking as one of my favorite churches in Italy-, I totally forgot about my suitcase.
Now when you are carrying this massive suitcase from bus to bus to bus to foot to foot to bus....you just get to a point where you are like, "Whatever, I don't even care." And it was 6 months of traveling and I was at that point.
After my visit, I went outside down the hill and near the van...and "GONE."
The big black suitcase disappeared and since I was the one who made that decision, I was like, "Oh well that was a dumb move."
I decided to contact the police to inform them in case they see it and maybe file a report, but I had a feeling that would not go anywhere with no insurance and me leaving it behind.
Long story short, the police come and they comment on me leaving the bag there and I say, "Yes, I know I know..no good." There were no staff on site at the church and they had no interest in even looking for it. We just looked inside the church and around the entrance doors. They told me to just go file a report at the police station, which I did and then I stopped at a wine bar in the center to take a break and make a plan.
In honor of the church, I had to try the Est, Est, Est! and it was phenomenal, great atmosphere, and again in Italy (they give you like 3 or 4 snacks with your glass of wine), which is pretty much a meal. I was thinking to myself of what items I had in there of value and things that I really can't replace(which was honestly not much because I was veryyyyy low budget with new shopping).
After I had one full glass, I was feeling refreshed and I thought to myself, I should not just give up on my suitcase-maybe if I walk back down that street I will find it or someone who has some information-highly doubtful.
I walked past the church and I didn't see it...I saw a couple walking up the side cobblestone and I figured I would follow them up to the square and take a taxi.
I had my head down walking uphill with my black Swiss army backpack and there it was!
My suitcase was in front of the side entrance to the church at the top of the stairs. I gave my suitcase a big hug and said, "I'm sorry suitcase... I won't do that again...and of course................Thank you Jesus:)
No comments:
Post a Comment